ZACATECAS | PART 1

I’m currently writing from a cute city called Lagos de Moreno and I’m exhausted haha. So bear with me if the descriptions on these pictures seem to not make sense or kinda ramble. I’ve taken about a billion pictures so far, okay so like 400, but still… So I’m having to sort through and pick my absolute favorites. I’ll post a link later to a Tumblr or whatever for those of you who want to see some of the ones that didn’t make it to the blog. This first installation is all about the city of Zacatecas. It’s an absolutely gorgeous city with great people! I got a lot of wonderful street style shots also which I’ll put in a different post, but here are some pics from my first day on the road and my first evening/start of the first full day in Zacatecas. Enjoy :)!
-Andrew J.
What the majority of the drive looked like lol
A little more diversity… mountains! Approaching Monterrey.
We stopped off at this little road side restaurant where my dad had taken my sister before. They just kept bringing the food, it was loco!
OH! These trees are amazing! They are like cactus or agave or something… but TREES!
Approaching Zacatecas!

One of the most ornate exteriors of a cathedral I’ve ever seen… and I’ve seen quite a few cathedrals ha.
I took about a hundred pics of just these alley ways, each one is more unique and picturesque than the last one. Here was one of the first though, I loved how it had the city in the background.
This photo doesn’t have an once of retouching or editing to it, the sun just happened to hit the church in that amazing way. Really gorgeous!
And I couldn’t have asked for a more “authentic” picture than this one! The guy had a ton of hats!
I frequently felt more like I was in Europe than in Mexico… I’m dubbing this city the City of the Arches
Mmmmmm this hot chocolate was the best I’ve ever had in my life! I don’t know what it was, but it almost tasted like chocolate and cinnamon. It was delicious!

These plates were in the restaurant, they were amazing because those are painted… but with coffee grounds! No lie!

These two shots (above and below) were the views from my room. Couldn’t have been better for people watching and views of the church!
I’ll post more from Zacatecas soon… but this post literally took me like three hours tonight, so I’m going to sleep now ha.

3 Responses to “ZACATECAS | PART 1”

  1. Looks like fun…I’m looking forward to seeing your photos from Mexico; I’ve been fascinated by the colors they use in buildings, clothes + art since I saw Frida and haven’t managed to get down there myself yet.

  2. Love it, love it, love it. Zacatecas is gorgeous, isn’t it? Yes….very European feel right in the middle of Mexico. Thanks for sharing your pictures. You’ve got some really good shots here. Can’t wait to see more.

  3. The lighting was working in your favor – GREAT photos! I’m so excited to know that you’re exploring some of my favorite cities – now you’ll understand the fondness that crosses my face when I talk about them! 🙂 Mexican hot chocolate usually has some chili in it, so that was probably the secret ingredient! Yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

