Archive for November 25, 2009

PHOTOGRAPHY | RANDOM GREATNESS

Posted in Art, photography, Random with tags , , , , , , , , on November 25, 2009 by Me & Marisa

Surfing the net today I stumbled across a ton of great photographs. Majority came from one of my favorite sites; Dazed Digital. This first set is called In Their Shoes and I thought it was just amazing how much of a story can be built just on these images and the shoes their wearing. The others are just photographers who I thought were interesting. I really like portraits becuase again I really like it when a picture looks like it captures the very essence of a person or situation. These photographers did that for sure; Leon Diaper and Ariel Rosenbloom.
-Andrew J.






If anyone has seen Into The Wild (one of my favorite movies) you’ll recgonize this next guy- He’s from the “Love Mountain” Diaper does such a great job of capturing classic Americana in a very retro feeling way. I love it!



Airel  shoots mostly in black and white, of which I am a fan and there’s just something very… unglamorous and real about her pictures. I know a girl who looks a LOT like the girl in the chair on the right… kinda creepy lol.


Finally some antique shots from the ’40s and ’50s in America. This cowboy is from a rodeo in 1945.


Highway in New Mexico… having driven it not too long ago… it really doesn’t look that different ha.

The look on this woman’s face is priceless- 1955 Elevator

NEW MOON RISING

Posted in college, Life, Movies with tags , , , , , , on November 25, 2009 by Me & Marisa

So I figure it’s about time I FINALLY post these pictures from New Moon on Thursday/Friday at midnight. Yes, I went to the first showing… I know, I know… it’s a sickness. But it was totally worth it and I saw it again on Friday in Dallas it was so good! Several of my friends went to the movie, but I almost ended up in a theater by myself becuase I didn’t buy my ticket with any of them… however through some clever maneuvering and shady ticket switching I made it into the theater that Marion and Dominique were in! On a Thanksgiving note, tomorrow (or today depending on when you’re reading this- Wednesday) I’m heading to Shawnee to meet up with my mom, dad and sister at my grandpa’s house. All of my mom’s side of the family is there and they always throw a huge to-do for Thanksgiving. After that, we’ll be caravanning up to Tulsa, or more correctly, Claremore, to decorate my parent’s house for Christmas. It’s a tradition we have to always do the weekend after Thanksgiving. I’ll post over the weekend, but that’s the 411 :). Happy Thanksgiving! Here are the New Moon pictures!
-Andrew J.

The line was crazy, this was not even half and it was wrapped around the building.

